What Types of Recoverable Damages Can You Receive From a Wrongful Death Case in Connecticut?

Why Hiring a Personal Injury Lawyer is Essential

Losing a loved one due to someone else’s negligence can be one of the most traumatic experiences a person can endure. In Connecticut, the law recognizes the right of individuals affected by such a tragedy to seek justice and compensation through a wrongful death claim. Understanding the types of recoverable damages available in Connecticut is crucial for families seeking to navigate the legal complexities during such a painful time.

Economic Damages

Economic damages, also known as special damages, are compensation for monetary losses that have a specific dollar value associated with them. They are meant to cover the financial costs incurred by the injured party or the tangible losses resulting from the injury. The New Haven wrongful death attorneys at Weber and Rubano discuss the following are types of economic damages:

Medical Expenses

One of the key components of recoverable damages in a wrongful death case includes the medical bills incurred due to the fatal injury or illness. These expenses may have been accumulated during an attempt to save the loved one’s life and can significantly burden the surviving family members.

Lost Wages and Earnings

The law allows for the recovery of lost wages that the deceased would have earned if they had lived. This includes the income they would have made until retirement, as well as benefits such as health insurance and pension plans. Calculations for lost wages are often complex and usually require the expertise of economic and financial professionals.

Funeral and Burial Costs

The costs associated with a loved one’s funeral and burial can be significant. Wrongful death damages in Connecticut may cover these expenses, providing some financial relief for families during their period of mourning.

Non-Economic Damages

Non-economic damages, often referred to as general damages, compensate for non-monetary losses that are not easily quantifiable. These damages are more subjective and compensate for the impact of an injury on the victim’s quality of life. The following are types of non-economic damages:

Loss of Companionship

Also referred to as “loss of consortium,” this category acknowledges the loss of love, companionship, and affection that family members experience due to the wrongful death of their loved one. It also considers the emotional impact of losing the guidance and support that the deceased would have provided.

Pain and Suffering of the Deceased

Connecticut law permits families to claim damages for the pain and suffering the deceased endured between the time of injury and death. This is separate from the pain and suffering experienced by the survivors and is included to address the trauma the deceased may have experienced.

Emotional Distress of Survivors

Surviving family members may also receive compensation for the emotional distress they suffer as a result of losing their loved one. This encompasses the grief, sorrow, and mental anguish that naturally follow in the wake of such a significant loss.

Connecticut Statute of Limitations 

There is a statute of limitations for wrongful death claims in Connecticut, which is generally two years from the date of death but not more than five years from the date of the act or event that caused the injury. It is essential to file within this timeframe, or the right to recover damages may be lost.

Families pursuing a wrongful death claim in Connecticut are often confronted with extensive legal and financial challenges. While no amount of money can replace a loved one, obtaining compensation can provide necessary support and a sense of justice as families seek closure. Due to the intricate nature of these cases and the nuances of state law, consulting with an experienced wrongful death attorney is indispensable to navigate the process and advocate for the rights of the deceased and their family.


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply